Our Health Care System

About Us

Our Health Care System

Headquartered in Rapid City, S.D., Monument Health is a community-based health care system with a mission to make a difference, every day. Monument Health offers care in 33 medical specialties and serves 20 communities across western South Dakota and in eastern Wyoming. With over 4,500 physicians and caregivers, Monument Health is comprised of 5 hospitals, 8 specialty and surgical centers and more than 40 medical clinics and health care service centers.

Monument Health is committed to the future of medicine, with medical training partnerships, a medical residency program and more than 130 active research studies. We are confident about western South Dakota’s future, and we’re honored to be your partner in delivering excellence in health care.

Our History

Monument Health traces its history back to 1878, when Sisters of the Holy Cross opened a hospital in gold rush mining camp of Deadwood. Other communities, including Sturgis, Custer, Spearfish and Rapid City, built hospitals of their own in subsequent years.

Rapid City had two hospitals, St. John’s McNamara and Bennett-Clarkson. However, by the 1970s high costs and new medical technology prompted local officials to look at merging the hospitals into a single system. In December 1979, the combined Rapid City Regional Hospital opened. In later years, health care providers in Custer, Lead-Deadwood, Sturgis, Spearfish and other communities joined the Monument Health network.

Our Hospitals